Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Viruses In Emails
The Nexus Forums > Specific Games > Oblivion > Announcements, News, Rules and Feedback > Site News
Dark0ne
Just wanted to send out a small heads up to everyone to just be wary of spoof emails and the viruses they contain. I received an email in my MWSource inbox today from "administration@mwsource.com" - there is no account by that name here so it has obviously been spoofed to look like it was from MWSource.

The email contained an attachement and the following info:

QUOTE
Dear user of  Mwsource.com,

Your e-mail  account has been  temporary disabled because of unauthorized access.

Pay attention on attached file.

In  order to read the attach you have to use  the  following password: 54062.

Sincerely,
  The Mwsource.com  team                                http://www.mwsource.com


I VERY RARELY send out emails, and in the unlikely occasion I do it will come from the account "dark0ne@mwsource.com", with no attachements.

If you get an email from an @mwsource.com domain, and it has an attachement - simply delete it. Its a virus.
AdamNeko
Funny, first time I got hit with one of those a while back, it was the same spoofed heading too. Guess I know what I'm doing with any more of those.
mrpyromania
Me thinks someone holds a gruge against MWsource....
wesaynothin
The Script Kiddies are back....
Slaiv
Here's a secret behind-the-scenes look at the Mod Team moments before they leave to hunt down the Virus-starter:
user posted image
Peregrine
You've got it all wrong! Hellbirds do not dishonor themselves by facing such enemies in combat. Here is the real picture of Peregrine's Wrath departing MWSource Fleet Yards to bring justice to the spammers.

user posted image
Dark0ne
Its not script-kiddies, hackers or anything - its simply an automated script which goes through domain's and randomly sends out emails.
Peregrine
QUOTE (Dark0ne @ Jun 14 2004, 05:05 PM)
Its not script-kiddies, hackers or anything - its simply an automated script which goes through domain's and randomly sends out emails.

Exactly. Several other sites I visit frequently have posted warnings about the exact same scam.
Slaiv
Okay then, Peregrine's ship to destroy the originator of the script:
user posted image

Here's what it is: http://www.galacticholonet.com/Weapons/Sun...un_Crusher.html

In short, it's more powerful than the Death Star. In that instead of destroying planets in single shots, it destroys enire solar systems.
Peregrine
Such things are far too inefficient... why destroy the entire system just to kill a target? Once the target world has been eliminated, PeregrineCorp mining ships will process its remains into more warships to continue our conquest of the universe. Oh wait, did I say that out loud?

*puts a silenced pistol shot into everyone reading the thread*
Dark0ne
The Sun Crusher...which Star Wars book was that...Jedi Academy series? Didn't the pilot escape by breaking his legs and fitting into some extremely small compartment or something?

Thats a blast from the past.
Slaiv
Yeah, I think so.
Switch
QUOTE (Peregrine @ Jun 14 2004, 10:05 PM)
You've got it all wrong! Hellbirds do not dishonor themselves by facing such enemies in combat. Here is the real picture of Peregrine's Wrath departing MWSource Fleet Yards to bring justice to the spammers.

user posted image

*Insert crackly 70s dark side music here* tongue.gif

Only one flaw in your plan - you destroy the planet the guy is on you sort of destroy MWSource too - which removes your mod powers, thus revoking your "god" status wink.gif so you loose your ship too. Leaving you to a grizzly death by having your lungs sucked out in space. Ugh. I'll go with the sniper team ;P
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.